Developing old hobbies into new more modern hobbies

So those who have known me for a while know that I truly enjoy photography and I have for quite some time. I started learning more about photography in high school and found a passion for film photography the thrill of taking pictures without knowing how they they would turn out was exciting. I enjoyed spending the day in the dark room developing my film and then processing my photos and being able to watch the whole process come full circle. Fast forward to college and I still enjoyed taking photos with my roommates, but found myself dabbling more in the world of ceramics. I put photography on the back burner for a few years and focused on learning how to throw pottery on the wheel. I found ceramics to be so relaxing, walk into the studio and turn on some good music and you could throw for hours!

Once my husband and I started dating we of course talked about hobbies and the things that we both enjoyed and when I mentioned photography he thought it would be a great idea to take us into the digital world and bought me (quickly became his) a Nikon D5000. I knew how to use the camera as a point and shoot camera, but I was clueless on how to use it in manual mode and I was really lost when it came to editing software. Let’s be honest I really had no desire to learn this either and my patience as a student for Eric was lacking but he put his best effort forth. Sorry my love!

The camera became Erics’ and he got me a more simple Nikon and I was okay with this until he left…who was going to take pictures of our babies now? I admit I panicked about this a little bit because I never thought twice that I wouldn’t have someone to take our Christmas Card photo. It was all up to me now and with his guidance (thank goodness for modern technology) he is teaching me the in’s and out’s of digital photography and now my nightly reading is going to become the D5000 manual. I think while I am not working it will be a great hobby (along with learning to be a proper blogger) for me to learn better and its a more modern adaptation of the photography I once knew. I mean who doesn’t love the instant gratification of being able to see your photos right away? Until next time here are a few photos I took of my cuties this week using all manual mode…gasp!

_DSC1567 _DSC1578 _DSC1617 _DSC1589

Leave a Reply

